stephencanwalk


A Poem in Chinese: Chinese Refugee Blues
December 31, 2006, 6:02 pm
Filed under: The Beginning

Chinese Refugee Blues

Beida Diploma

Mother

Child  Woman

They gave us a room to live in

They sent me here to study politics

But after June 4th

I left them for good

I’m scared of Mandarin

My broken Enligh is in pieces

In politics, a bowl of rice is hard to come by

Without Cantones, I’m a stranger

Even in Chinatown

Going home is on my mind monthly

To whom do I speak in the street

In her letters, my woman wants me back

Friends tell me how much that might cost

Each night I meet new walls

I draw the dying warmth of th last Double Happiness

How can I kill all 24 hours each day

17.04.1990 

一個中國難民的怨曲

我有一張北京大學的証書

一個母親

一個孩子和一個女人

北京配給我一間房子

中國派我來學習西方政治

碰上六四大屠殺

實踐我退出了共產黨

從此懼怕每一個國語人

我的三脚貓英語問路都不行

怎樣混飯吃西方改治學

不曉廣東話却步於唐人街

搬屋是每個月的主題

每天走在路上跟誰來說話

我的女人來信央我回去

我的友人儆醒我千萬不要回去

每個晚上面對不同的牆壁

抽我僅有的雙囍牌取暖

怎樣打發一天十二個時辰

17.04.1990

Yesterday I went to the New Year gathering to commemmorate the 10th anniversay of the work of the Chinese Orphans Welfare Concern.  I was deeply touched by the humanitarian work done by those people, Chinese and expatriates, for the oprhans, deserted and wandering children in the deprived area in China.  As I have not been working for 180 days up to now, I can only contribute as little as I can offer. If everyone will do what they could afford, the world will be a much better one. 

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

The volunatry work you do has helped hundreds of people and I am very inspired by your work and courage.

Comment by Simon Tan

Many thnaks. We should try harder.

Comment by Stephen Ng




Leave a Reply

