stephencanwalk


Calling artists: Changing fortunes
January 17, 2007, 12:07 am
Filed under: CHANGING FORTUNES 時來運到

Islington Chinese Association is producing its second musical ‘Changing Fortunes’, an English and Cantonese bilingual script conceived and written by the youth group members of ICA Chinese Energetic Youth Enthusisats (CEYE).  The play will be performed at the Arts Depot at North London on 14-15 April 2007.  We are now calling all artisits, particularly youth artists, coming to the open audition on 3 February 2007 Saturday at 1-5pm at the Islington Chinese Association 33 Giesbach Raod London N19 3DA, telephone: 020 7263 5986, email: islingtonchinese@yahoo.co.uk.

Changing Fortunes is sponsored by Arts Council for part of the production cost, all artists and supporters are volunteers and will not be paid.  We call upon all interested in perfroming arts to join us as performers, stage hands, props and sets assistants, sound and lighting technicians, and supporters. 

ICA produced its first musical When Yellow River meets The Thames in 2004, 2 performances were staged at the Stenier Theatre in Central London.

We can gurantee a lot of fun and a dedication to community and people’s arts

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I am not an artist but I got a small part in the musical which sounds kind of fun. I joked about going for the audition but then ‘chickened out’ because I was not sure if I can commit to all the rehearsals plus I suffer from stage fright. However, while eating my KFC takeaway and waiting for the audition to finish so I can tidy up the hall, I was encouraged by a couple of friends to go for the audition before the panel called it a day. It was very embarrassing, I went into the room still chewing my chips. Anyway, after reading a few lines from the script and sang a Chinese operatic song (just an extract), I thought that’s it and thanked the panel for giving me the opportunity to ‘show off’ my so-called artistic talent. I bid them farewell and went back to the rest of my KFC meal. And, guess what, I was later told I got the part. How wondeful. Well, I’m not going to tell you what I will be playing in Changing Fortunes, but if you want to find out, come and watch the musical on 14/15 April. See you there!!!

Comment by Star of tomorrow




Leave a Reply

